Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans‑Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) was signed on 8 March 2018 in Santiago, Chile.

CPTPP is a free trade agreement between:

  • ​Australia
  • ​Brunei Darussalam
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Japan
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Peru
  • New Zealand
  • Singapore
  • Vietnam

The implementing legislation received the Royal Assent on 19 October 2018.

CPTPP can be found at Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership​.

CPTPP is a separate agreement that incorporates the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPP). TPP can be found at Trans-Pacific Partnership​​.​

Entry into force

CPTPP entered into force on 30 December 2018 for:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Japan
  • New Zealand
  • Mexico
  • Singapore.

CPTPP entered into force for Vietnam on 14 January 2019, Peru on 19 September 2021, Malaysia on 29 November 2022 and Chile on 21 February 2023.

CPTPP will enter into force for Brunei Darussalam 60 days after notifying the depository that its domestic ratification process has been completed.

Under subsection 153ZKU(6) of the Customs Act 1901, the Minister must announce by notifiable instrument the day CPTPP enters into force for a party other than Australia. An Australian Customs Notice will also be published in advance by the Australian Border Force.