

Australian Customs Notice No. 2022/48

Customs (Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership - Entry into Force for Other Parties) Notice 2022

The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) will enter into force for Malaysia on 29 November 2022.

CPTPP entered into force for Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Mexico and Singapore on 30 December 2018, Vietnam on 14 January 2019, and Peru on 19 September 2021.

Under subsection 153ZKU(6) of the *Customs Act 1901*, the Minister for Home Affairs is required to announce by notifiable instrument the day on which the Agreement enters into force for each Party to the Agreement (other than Australia).

This occurred on 08 November 2022 in <u>Customs (Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership—Entry into Force for Other Parties)</u> Notice 2022.

The following Preference Origin Country code is to be included with the table found in <u>ACN 2018/37</u> for use from 29 November 2022.

	Code	Description
Preference Origin Country	MY	Malaysia

CPTPP has not yet entered into force for Brunei Darussalam and Chile.

For more information about the CPTPP please refer to the ABF CPTPP web page.

[Signed]
Kimberlee Stamatis
Assistant Secretary
Customs and Trade Policy
9 November 2022