

Australian Government

Department of Immigration and Border Protection

## DEPARTMENT OF IMMIGRATION AND BORDER PROTECTION NOTICE

## No.2015/33

## First Protocol to the ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Agreement

## Entry into Force 1 October 2015

The First Protocol (agreed amendment) to the Agreement Establishing the ASEAN– Australia–New Zealand Free Trade Area (AANZFTA) will enter into force (EIF) on 1 October 2015 for Australia, New Zealand, Brunei, Myanmar (Burma), Lao PDR, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

Cambodia and Indonesia will advise separately when they have completed their domestic processes and their date of entry into force. A further ACN will be issued when the entry into force date for these countries is known.

For those countries for which the Protocol has entered into force, the Protocol:

- removes the General Rule and places all tariffs into an Annex 2 to the agreement;
- removes the requirement for the free on board (FOB) value except where origin is claimed on the basis of a value-added rule; and
- provides for the transition to the current World Customs Organization Harmonized System (HS) Nomenclature 2012, and establish a mechanism to more easily implement future changes to the HS.

A transition period of six months applies in moving to the new arrangements and details of these changes, including guidance for business can be found on the Department of Immigration and Border Protection website <u>http://www.border.gov.au/Busi/Free/ASEA</u> and also on the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade website <u>http://dfat.gov.au/trade/agreements/aanzfta/news/Pages/news.aspx</u>

Enquiries in relation to this ACN should be directed to the National Trade Advice Centre by email to: origin@border.gov.au

(signed) Anita Langford A/g Assistant Secretary Trade Branch CANBERRA ACT

30 September 2015