

AUSTRALIAN CUSTOMS AND BORDER PROTECTION NOTICE NO. 2010/52

ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Agreement Entry into Force for Laos and Cambodia

The Agreement Establishing the ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Area (AANZFTA) will enter into force on 1 January 2011 for Laos and on 4 January 2011 for Cambodia.

The AANZFTA has already entered into force for Australia, New Zealand, Brunei, Malaysia, Burma, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

Under subsection 153ZKB(7) of the *Customs Act 1901*, the Minister for Home Affairs is required to announce by Gazette Notice the day on which the Agreement enters into force for each Party to the Agreement (other than Australia). This occurred on 8 December 2010 for Laos and Cambodia.

Indonesia is working to complete its internal requirements. AANZFTA will enter into force for Indonesia 60 days after the date of notification that it has completed its internal requirements.

If you have any queries about this Notice, please contact the Valuation & Origin Section, Trade Services Branch, by email to origin@customs.gov.au or by telephone on (02) 6275 6556.

Anthony Seebach National Manager Trade Services Branch CANBERRA ACT

8 December 2010