

AUSTRALIAN CUSTOMS NOTICE NO. 2009/51

ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Agreement

Entry into Force

As advised by ACN 2009/44, the Agreement Establishing the ASEAN– Australia–New Zealand Free Trade Area (AANZFTA) will enter into force on 1 January 2010.

The AANZFTA will, contrary to earlier advice provided to Customs and Border Protection and advised by ACN 2009/44, only enter into force on that date for Australia, New Zealand, Brunei, Myanmar (Burma), Singapore, and Vietnam.

The AANZFTA will not enter into force on 1 January 2010 for the remaining ASEAN Member States, namely Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, the Philippines, and Thailand. Imported goods from these countries are not originating goods until the AANZFTA enters into force for them. It is therefore not possible to apply the AANZFTA to goods imported from these countries until this occurs.

A further ACN will be issued when the entry into force date for those countries is known.

Any enquiries in relation to this ACN should be directed to Valuation & Origin Section, Trade Services Branch, by email to origin@customs.gov.au or by telephone on (02) 6275 6556.

Jennifer Reimitz A/g National Manager Trade Services Branch CANBERRA ACT

2 December 2009